Wat Chaeng

Built in 1887 during the reign of King Rama V, the temple has an old wooden sim or ubosoth (ordination hall) that is a superb piece of northeastern craftsmanship. The wooden roof support are carved with mythical ‘king of serpents’ or Naga.

The name ‘Ubon’ means lotus in Thai and the lotus is the provincial symbol. Ornately-carved lotus motifs adorn the gable.


  • Tourism Authority of Thailand

Contact Information

TAT Northeastern Region Office – Region 2
Areas of responsibility: the provinces of Ubon Ratchathani, Amnat Charoen, Si Sa Ket and Yasothon
Tel: 045 243770, 250714 | Fax: 045 243771 | E-mail: tatubon@tat.or.th