Places of Interest in Thailand
North Eastern
Travel Guide

Central Thailand

Central Thailand (Central Plain) is a region of Thailand, covering the broad alluvial plain of the Chao Phraya River. It is separated from North-East Thailand (Isan) by the Phetchabun mountain range, and another mountain range separates it from Myanmar to the west. In the north it gently changes into the more hilly Northern Thailand. The area was the heartland of the Ayutthaya kingdom, and is still the dominant area of Thailand. Central Thailand contains the Thai capital of Bangkok. Central Thailand is the most populated region in the country.


Central Thailand including the eastern provinces is divided into 26 provinces. Especially for statistical purposes these are divided into 4 groups:

  • Bangkok and vicinity: Bangkok, Nakhon Pathom, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Samut Prakan, Samut Sakhon
  • Sub-central region: Ang Thong, Ayutthaya, Chainat, Lopburi, Saraburi, Singburi
  • Western region: Kanchanaburi, Phetchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Ratchaburi, Samut Songkhram, Suphanburi
  • Eastern region: Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi, Chonburi, Nakhon Nayok, Rayong, Prachinburi, Sa Kaeo, Trat

Key Buddhist sites

As the economic and administrative heart of Thailand, the region offers the richest concentration of Buddhist sites in the country. From ancient Ayutthaya to the Temple Tiger to the famed Wats of Bangkok, Central Thailand is the Buddhist hearbeat one must feel before exploring other parts of the country.


Places of Interest

Please help us to keep going


Write In


About Buddhist Travel | Disclaimer